This hotel establishment can boast with the fact that it is the oldest building of its kind in Novi Sad. Also, it stands out with the longest facade (60 meters) which has 24 vertical holes. The hotel was built in 1854 as a property of Johan Ajgler. It maintained its original appearance (interior and exterior), but not the name. It was originally named “Empress Elizabeth”, the wife of Francis Joseph, then the “Queen Mary” and only after the Second World War, it was renamed as a hotel “Vojvodina”.
In the 19th century, when the hotel was built, there was the vision about the most modern hotel industry in the city, with 60 luxurious rooms, bathrooms, a restaurant in the hotel and cafe on the ground floor where the élite company of Novi Sad would gather, accordingly. It was the center of the cultural and political life in the city. At some point, the owner of the hotel was a landowner Lazar Dundjerski, and then this place was represented as the main gathering place for people from the world stage. In 1895 in the courtyard of the hotel was built theater Lazar Dundjerski. In 1928 there was a big fire which burned the theater to the ground.
The hotel is located at the square, Trg slobode and has 59 rooms, two meeting rooms, a restaurant, parking, laundry, bar and a shopping mall.